The Hallé has officially launched its Winter 2020/21 season, presenting nine spectacular classical concerts filmed at The Bridgewater Hall and Hallé St Peters which can be enjoyed from home. Starting on Thursday 3 December and continuing until Thursday 25 March 2021, The Hallé aims to take viewers on a musical journey during these uncertain times, colourfully curating works like The Event Horizon conducted by Jonathon Heyward and read by the Poet Laureate, Simon Armitage (Thursday 14 January) and Shostakovich’s dazzling first, brought to life by conductor Delyana Lazarova (Thursday 25 February).

Other stand-out performances included within the Hallé’s dizzying digital line-up are an Artist in Residence performance from violinist Henning Kraggerud (Thursday 11 February), a cinematic quest across a realm of iconic movie scores conducted by Stephen Bell (Thursday 11 March) and Stravinsky’s The Soldier’s Tale conducted by the Hallé’s own Music Director Sir Mark Elder (Thursday 18 March). Elder will also be on-hand to kick start proceedings with an unmissable fanfare event which will be available to view from Thursday 3 December.

By purchasing a season pass for just £96, viewers can get exclusive access to each of the Hallé’s nine upcoming performances, which will become available via the streaming service Vimeo on specific launch dates and will be accessible to view for three months following their debut. Tickets to individual shows will cost £14, with special discounted tickets available from £5 for NHS workers and those in full-time education or receiving government benefits. To find out more – and to purchase your tickets – visit the Hallé website.

Thu 3 Dec - Thu 25 Mar, The Bridgewater Hall & Hallé St Peter's, From £14, £96 for 9 concert season subscription
www.halle.co.uk
Words:
Edward Lane
Published on:
Sun 22 Nov 2020