It’s been a tough old year for Manchester’s hospitality sector, from the Christmas tiers – and the Christmas tears – to the constant opening and closing and what not. But our restaurants became takeaways, and our cafés became wine shops, and they never stopped trying to serve their loyal customers (that’s us), even if it meant having to completely transform the place. The Manchester Food and Drink Awards  took place on Monday 27th September  at Escape to Freight Island Ticket Hall.

This is the 24th year the awards have been running, with the nominees having been chosen by the MFDF judging panel – made up of the best food writers, critics and experts in the North West… We’ve listed the nominees and winners below (the winner is in bold at the top of each category). Well done to all!

Restaurant Of The Year:

WINNER: Baratxuri, 1 Smithy St, Ramsbottom, Bury BL0 9AT

The French – @thefrenchmcr

Baratxuri – @baratxuribar
Erst – @erst_mcr

Hawksmoor – @hawksmooremanchester

Mana – @restaurant.mana

Sparrows – @sparrows_mcr

Street Urchin – @st_urchin

Where The Light Gets In – @arestaurantwherethelightgetsin

Newcomer of the Year (sponsored by Manchester Evening News)

WINNER: Ramona, 40 Swan St, Manchester, M4 4FH

District – @districtmcr

Open Kitchen MCR – @openkitchenmcr

Osma – @osmakitchenbar

Pho Cue – @phocuekitchen

Ramona – @ramonamcr

Schofield’s bar –

Society – @society.mcr

The Moor – @themoorrestaurant

Bar of the Year

WINNER: Albert’s Schloss

Albert’s Schloss – @albertsschloss

Henry C – @wearehenryc

Kiosk – @kioskonlapwing

Schofield’s bar –

Speak in Code – @speak_in_code

The Blues Kitchen – @theblueskitchenmcr

The Jane Eyre – @thejaneeyremcr

Three Little Words – @threelittlewordsmcr

Chef of the Year

WINNER: Rachel Stockley, Baraxturi

Adam Reid of The French – @thefrenchmcr

Eddie Shepherd of The Walled Garden – @eddiesheps

Mary-Ellen McTague of The Creameries – @hellocreameries

Patrick Withington of Erst – @erst_mcr

Rachel Stockley of Baratxuri – @baratxuribar

Sam Buckley of Where The Light Gets In – @arestaurantwherethelightgetsin

Simon Martin of Mana – @restaurant.mana

Terry Huang of Umezushi Omkase – @umezushi_m31pj

Pub or Beer Bar of the Year

WINNER: Edinburgh Castle, 17-19 Blossom St, Ancoats, Manchester M4 5AW

Beatnikz Republic – @beatnickz_nq

Cob and Coal – @cobandcoal

Edinburgh Castle – @ec_ancoats

Heaton Hops – @heatonhops

Nordie – @nordiemcr

Reasons To Be Cheerful – @r2bcbeercafe

Society – @society.mcr

Stalybridge Buffet Bar – @buffetbarstalybridge

Artisan Food Producer of the Year

WINNER: Pollen Bakery, Cotton Field Wharf, 8 New Union St, Manchester M4 6FQ

Bread Flower:

Companio Bakery – @companiobakery

Gooey – @gooeyco

Holy Grain Sourdough – @holy_grain_sourdough

Just Natas – @just_natas

Lily’s Deli – @lilysdelichorlton

Manchester Smokehouse – @mcrsmokehouse

Pollen Bakery – @pollenbakery

Pop Up/Project of the Year

Winner: Escape to Freight Island, 11 Baring St, Manchester M1 2PZ

Eat Well MCR – @eatwellmcr

Escape to Freight Island – @escapetofreightisland

Grub – @grub_mcr

Homeground – @homegroundmcr

Kampus Summer Guest Events – @kampusmcr

Platt Fields Market – @plattfields_marketgarden

One Central – @onecentralalty

MIF Festival Kitchen Takeovers –

Neighbourhood Venue of the Year (sponsored by Roomzzz Aparthotels)

WINNER: Lily’s, 85 Oldham Rd, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 7DF

Bar San Juan – @barsanjuan

Levanter – @levanterfinefoods

Erst – @erst_mcr

Fisherman’s table – @the_fishermans_table

Lily’s – @lilysvegi

Porta – @porta_salford

Oystercatcher – @theoystercatcherchorlton

Stretford Foodhall – @foodhalls_

Food Trader of the Year

WINNER: Wholesome Junkies, 49 High St, Manchester M4 3AH

Abeja – @abejatapasbar

Archchi’s – @archchis

Gooey – @gooeyco

Honest Crust – @honestcrustsourdoughpizza

Maison Breizh – @maisonbreizh

Pico’s Tapas – @eatpicos

Tender Cow – @tendercow

Wholesome Junkies – @wholesomejunkies

Affordable Eats of the Year (sponsored by Just Eat)

WINNER: Rudy’s, 9 Cotton St, Ancoats, Manchester M4 5BF / Petersfield House, Peter St, Manchester M2 5QJ

Abeja – @abejatapasbar

Chapati Café – @chapaticafe

Ca Phe Viet – @capheviet

Little Yeti – @littleyetimcr

Lily’s – @lilysvegi

Mi and Pho – @miandpho

Platt Fields Market Garden – @plattfields_marketgarden

Rudy’s Pizza – @wearerudyspizza

Coffee Shop of the Year

WINNER: Federal, Northern Quarter, 9 Nicholas Croft, Manchester M4 1EY

Another Heart to Feed – @anotherhearttofeed

Ancoat’s Coffee – @ancoatscoffeeco

Ezra & Gil – @ezraandgil

Federal – @federalcafebar

Grindsmith – @grindsmithcoffee

Grapefruit – @grapefruitcoffeeand

Just Between Friends – @justbetweenfriendscoffee

Pollen Bakery – @pollenbakery

Foodie Neighbourhood of the Year

WINNER: Altrincham


Heaton Moor







Vegetarian/Vegan Offering of the Year

WINNER: Bundobust, 61 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AG

Bundobust – @bundobust

Walled Garden – @eddiesheps

Four Side Pizza – @foursideveganpizza

Herbivorous – @herbivorousfood

Lily’s – @lilysvegi

Sanskruti – @sanskrutirestaurant

Wholesome Junkies – @wholesomejunkies

Vertigo – @vertigo_plantbased

Independent Drinks Producer of the Year

WINNER: Manchester Gin, 10-15 Watson St, Manchester M3 4LP

Bundobust – @bundobust

Cloudwater Brewery – @cloudwaterbrew

Diablesse – @diablesserum

Hip Pop (Formerly Booch & Brew) – @drink.hip.pop

Manchester Gin – @manchester_gin

Northern Monk – @northernmonk

Pomona Island Beer Brew Co Ltd – @pomonaislandbrew

Steep Soda Co – @steepsodaco

Food and Drink Retailer of the Year

WINNER: Ancoats General Store, 57 Great Ancoats Street, Manchester M4 5AB

Ancoats General Store – @generalstores_

The Butcher’s Quarter – @butchersquarter

Bernie’s Grocery Store – @berniesgrocerystore

Grape to Grain – @grapetograin

Isca Wines – @iscawines

Out of the Blue Fishmongers – @ootbfish

Unicorn Grocery – @unicorngrocery

Wandering Palate – @wandering_palate_monton

Outstanding Achievement Award

 Recognising someone who has contributed something outstanding to the hospitality industry in Greater Manchester.

WINNER: Mital Morar

Sophie Cunningham
Published on:
Tue 28 Sep 2021